top of page

History of The Menomonie Singers


The Menomonie Singers was founded in 1989 as the Menomonie Chamber Singers. The choir had a humble start, beginning with just 12 loyal members. We were without a permanent rehearsal home, so the choir rehearsed in a variety of places around Menomonie and performed for holiday events. In the more than 35 years since our founding, we have changed our name to The Menomonie Singers and become a 501(c)3 non-profit organization. We are funded through choir member dues and donations. 

The choir has seen wonderful growth and support from the community and has been able to expand the number of singers in the choir, and the growth is continuing. We have established a permanent rehearsal space at the University of Wisconsin-Stout and recently joined the newly assembled choir consortium Chippewa Valley Voices, an organization aimed at mutually supporting regional choirs. We are dedicated to bringing quality choral music to the community. In support of that goal, we hold regular performances in the spring and fall, and some additional performances at holiday and other community events. We have premiered new compositions, explored topical themes, and presented classical choral repertoire. The Menomonie Singers looks forward to many more years of sharing our love of singing and exceptional choral music with the communities of Menomonie and surrounding areas.

Choral Director

Brian Klein has a Bachelor of Music in choral conducting from St. Olaf College in Northfield, Minnesota.   Recently, he became the new choral conductor at the Mondovi School District, and heads up the Middle and High School choir programs. Klein was previously a tenor in The Menomonie Singers, and has had many choral conducting experiences in local school districts in Wisconsin and Minnesota.  He has also worked as an assistant conductor in Philadelphia and New York City. Says Klein, “I’m excited at this opportunity to lead the choir after a long difficult time, and eager to be a part of the revival of the arts in this community.”

Executive Director

Juliana Schmidt started The Menomonie Singers in 1989. She has been active in the arts in Menomonie for many years, having also been one of the founders and then director of Arts Coming Together, Inc., a local arts agency. She has performed with one-half of a duo known as An Old Sweet Song, bringing American popular song from the Victorian Age to World War II with her own scripted shows to audiences all over the Midwest. She sings in, and serves as treasurer for, The Menomonie Singers, and teaches music classes at UW-Stout. She has taught voice and piano for more than three decades.

Board Members


Michael Fairchild


 Juliana Schmidt




Meg Burkett

Adele Moe

Amy McKown

Artboard 7-100.jpg

John Taylor

bottom of page